Today's Paper Latest News Local News Sports Coronavirus Arkansas News National News Obits Newsletters

SAU students earn agriculturescholarships from state

August 21, 2021 at 4:00 a.m.

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture recently awarded $20,000 in scholarships to eight students attending Arkansas universities with agricultural programs. The universities include Arkansas State University, Southern Arkansas University, the University of Arkansas, and Arkansas Tech University.

The scholarship recipients from Southern Arkansas University are all majoring in Agriculture Science. They include Brieanna Shaw of Pine Bluff, Courtland Mixon of Prescott, Hannah Boyte of Oak Grove and Hannah Helms of Gurdon.

"The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is pleased to provide funding to help these deserving students further their education and prepare for potential careers in agriculture, our state's largest industry," said Wes Ward, Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture. "It is an exciting time to be involved in the agricultural industry and we wish the scholarship recipients all the best as they consider the many career options available in agriculture," said Ward.

Funding for the scholarships comes from civil penalties collected by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture. Each institution receives $5,000 annually and has its own process for selecting the scholarship recipients and the amounts awarded to each student.

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture and forestry to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. Visit The Arkansas Department of Agriculture offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability and is an Equal Opportunity Employer.

Print Headline: SAU students earn agriculturescholarships from state


Sponsor Content