Today's Paper Obits Latest News Local News Photo Galleries Sports Newsletters Viewpoints Lifestyle Weather Jobs

Southern Arkansas Athletics announced it will be hosting a Mulerider basketball alumni gathering on Feb. 9 inside the W.T. Watson Center and HKR Complex.

Past SAU men’s and women’s basketball alumni from all eras are invited to attend, including the 1988-89 and 1989-90 Mulerider men’s basketball teams which will be honored at halftime of the men’s game in recognition of their championship seasons.

“It is always a special time when we have the opportunity to reconnect with former players, coaches and teams and bring them back to campus to commemorate their time here at Southern Arkansas,” noted SAU Director of Athletics, Steve Browning. “This is the first of many events that we hope to have to honor those that have helped create our storied athletics history.”

The event will begin with a fellowship and lunch at 11:30 a.m. and will be followed by a brief program featuring remarks from SAU President, Dr. Trey Berry, Director of Athletics, Steve Browning and head basketball coaches Adam Collins (women) and Andy Sharpe (men).

The program will lead into the tip-off of the SAU women’s Great American Conference tilt with Arkansas Tech at 1 p.m. and will be followed by themen’s matchup against the Wonder Boys at 3 p.m.

The 1988-89 and 1989-90 men’s basketball teams, led by the late Coach Monroe Ingram (a 2006 Inductee of the SAU Sports Hall of Fame), are remembered as two of the best teams in program history as the squads combined to win 46 games across the two seasons.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the ‘88-89 Muleriders capturing the District 17 Championship behind a 24-6 record overall and a 13-5 mark in AIC play, while it has been 29 years since the ‘89-90 Muleriders claimed the Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference (AIC) Title with an overall record of 22-5 and a 15-3 record in conference action.

The success of both teams marked just the fifth time in program history that the Muleriders won 20 or more games in back-to-back seasons.

Additionally, the combined 46 wins stand as the second-most victories in any two-year stretch in program history.

The 1989-90 Muleriders hold the distinction of being the most recent team in program history to have won a conference championship. This year’s Mulerider men’s team became the first team in program history to produce 10 wins through the season’s first 12 games since the 1989-90 Muleriders started 18-2.

Mulerider Athletics asks that those interested in attending the gathering RSVP by Feb. 4.

Attendees can do so by visiting, calling (870) 235-4079 or by emailing

NAIA All-American

• 1988-89 - John Holmes, First Team

• 1989-90 - John Holmes , First Team


(*unanimous selection)

• 1988-89 - John Holmes*, Freddy Wright (Honorable Mention)

• 1989-90 - John Holmes, Freddy Wright, Darnell Ford (Honorable Mention), Dyun Long (Honorable Mention), Pat Watson (Honorable Mention)

NAIA District 17

Coach of the Year

• 1989-90 Monroe Ingram

• 1988-89 Monroe Ingram

AIC Coach of the Year

• 1989-90 Monroe Ingram

Sponsor Content


comments powered by Disqus